Research Committee

At the Ida Institute we have become increasingly aware of the ongoing need for robust research which develops our knowledge and understanding of the outcomes and implications of person-centered care for professionals in hearing care and people with hearing loss.

The Ida Institute Research Committee will mobilize our academic community and harness their time and energy to create an evidence base for Ida tools and methods. We will accomplish this by organizing, accepting proposals, and funding small collaborative projects. The Ida Institute has set aside a modest grant fund for 2016 in order to fund small-to-medium research projects with researchers, PhD students and others.

We are very fortunate to have as members of the Research Committee esteemed researchers Drs. Louise Hickson as committee chair, Joseph Montano, Elisabet Thorén, Sophia Kramer, and Melanie Ferguson.

Committee Members

Louise Hickson

Committee Chair
Ph.D. Professor of Audiology Co-Director,
Communication Disability Centre
The University of Queensland

Joseph Montano

Chief of Audiology and Speech Language Pathology
New York Presbyterian Hospital-Weill Cornell Medical Center

Elisabet Thorén

Project Manager
Research Audiologist
Eriksholm Research Centre

Sophia Kramer

University Research Chair, Auditory Functioning and Participation
Department of Otolaryngology-Head and Neck Surgery, section Ear & Hearing
EMGO Institute for Health and Care Research

Melanie Ferguson

Consultant Clinical Scientist (Audiology),
Hon. Associate Professor
Research Lead
NIHR Nottingham Hearing Biomedical Research Unit in Hearing